A strategy of cooperation on a European scale

The Route des Villes d’Eaux du Massif Central is an associate member of the EHTTA (European Historic Thermal Towns Association).

This European network unites 30 emblematic spa towns, such as Vichy, Baden-Baden, Bath, Spa, Karlovy Vary and Budapest among others, from 12 countries.

Following on from the European project Thermae Europae, which was implemented to help preserve and promote thermal heritage, the EHTTA was behind the creation of the European Historic Thermal Towns Cultural Route, which received the Council of Europe’s prestigious certification.

Of the 17 Spa Towns in the Massif Central, the communes La Bourboule, Le Mont-Dore, Châtel-Guyon, Royat-Chamalières and Vichy are members of this European network. Since 2013, the Route des Villes d’Eaux du Massif Central has also been coordinating the European cultural project ‘Sources of Culture: the Cafés of Europe’ and thus has positioned the Massif Central as a dynamic and innovative region, a laboratory for devising ideas to promote the heritage of the spa towns of Europe.

This Europe-wide cooperation also makes it possible to exchange best practices which can be transferred from one region of Europe to another and, in the future, to mobilise European funds to finance structuring projects for the spa towns of the Massif Central.